Bookaholic

I ran out to get hold of some new books on happiness from Kinokuniya bookstore in Suria KLCC. This wouldn’t be a problem for most people. It’s good to read, right? Well… that depends.

I don’t know if I mentioned this before but I’m a book addict. I mean a serious addict. I’m the kind of addict who needs to belong to a group that starts its meetings with the phrase “Hello, I’m Trisha and I’m a bookaholic.” I have books I haven’t read coming out of my ears. I spend loads of cash on books. I’m afraid to add the book bills at the end of the year. All I know is that I have enough book receipts to get the government tax relief, many times over (the Malaysian government allows each individual to enjoy up to RM1,000 on tax relief per annum for books – so you do the scary math!)

Despite these disturbing personality traits, I couldn’t resist buying even more books ‘in the name of research’ for my Journey To Happiness. To be fair, I’ll probably read them all but I already have 2 books on the subject (The Geography of Bliss –  Eric Weiner and Hector and the Search for Happiness – Francois Lelord, a best selling French novel that’s been translated into English) which I haven’t read yet.

Either way, I came away from Kinokuniya yesterday with two brand new books (oooh! the thrill of it ….the scent of new books, the faint rustle of untouched printed paper!).

1) Stumbling On Happiness – Daniel Gilbert

2) Getting Things Done – David Allen

Alright…technically the second book is about organizing your life (with emphasis on work) but I figure organizing your life has got to go toward making you happy. At least, I think so. It’s hard to feel joyous when you have a to-do list stretching back to 2007 that hasn’t been completed yet.

Okay, enough with waxing lyrical about nothing. Time to hit the books so I can reduce some of this book buying guilt so I can get happy again!

Leave a Reply

